Photographer: Watts and Skeen
Dalhousie Park (now Bogyoke Aung San Park) was created by the British to plans drawn up in 1856 by William Scott of the Calcutta Botanic Gardens. It was named after Lord Dalhousie who was Governor General of India from 1848 to 1856.The park was laid out around the Kandawgyi Lake, known then as the Royal Lake, one of two lakes in northern Rangoon east of the Shwe Dagon Pagoda. This is a view of the edge of the lake showing the drive which encircled it. The park was a popular subject for photographers in Rangoon for the picturesque vistas of water and landscape it gave.
Source: British Library